Attorney DeBruin represents clients from across lower Michigan.

Attorney DeBruin represents clients from across lower michigan.

Confident In The Fight,
Committed To Your Defense

photo of attorney Tiffany DeBruin

Driving Under Suspension

Having your license suspended in Lansing is more common than many people think, and that is partially due to the number of different reasons that the state can revoke or suspend your Michigan driver’s license including the following:

  • Offense due to drugs or alcohol
  • Unpaid traffic tickets
  • Unpaid Driver Responsibility Fees
  • Juvenile offenses
  • Failure to appear in court or comply with a court judgment
  • Convicted of a serious traffic violation
  • Accumulation of too many points on your license
  • Convicted of a felony
  • Failure to stop at the scene of an injury accident
  • Failure to comply with child support orders

Often a fee must be paid to the state before the license can be reinstated, and an experienced Lansing criminal defense attorney can help walk you through the reinstatement process.

Consequences Of Driving Under Suspension

Regardless of the offense that results in a suspended or revoked license, the effect is still the same, which leaves you unable to legally operate a motor vehicle. For some people, having a license suspended is no big deal. They are able to carry on with their daily activities without any problem. For others, having a license suspended can wreak havoc on their daily lives. They are unable to drive to work, pick up their children from school or even go to the grocery store. In some cases, a suspended driver’s license could even result in the loss of your job.

If you find yourself restricted by losing your license, you might be tempted to drive without one. Every time you drive with a license that has been suspended or revoked, whether it’s your first time or your hundredth, you run the risk of getting caught and charged with a criminal traffic offense in Michigan.

Driving with a suspended or revoked license is a misdemeanor punishable on a first offense by:

  • Up to 93 days in jail
  • A fine of up to $500
  • 2 points on your driving record
  • $500 Driver Responsibility Fee per year for two years
  • Cancellation of your vehicle registration plates

A second offense is punishable by:

  • Up to one year in jail
  • A fine of up to $1000
  • $500 Driver Responsibility Fee
  • Additional mandatory license suspension
  • Cancellation of your vehicle registration plates
  • Subject to vehicle forfeiture for 180 days

Even if your license isn’t the one suspended, you can still find yourself in need of an experienced Lansing criminal defense attorney if you’ve allowed someone with a suspended or revoked license to drive your vehicle, especially if they cause someone injury or death while operating your vehicle. In this case, you could be charged with a felony resulting in:

  • Imprisonment up to five years
  • Fines up to $5000

Receive Skilled Legal Help From A Lansing Criminal Defense Attorney

If you find yourself facing the types of serious consequences that occur when your license is suspended or revoked, you should consider contacting a Lansing criminal defense lawyer who can help you understand your options and will work to find the best possible resolution for your case.

At DeBruin Law, PLLC, you will find yourself working with attorney Tiffany DeBruin, an experienced Lansing criminal defense attorney who will provide one-on-one personal attention to your case. We understand what to look for in cases involving traffic violations, and it might be possible to get your sentence reduced or your case dismissed if there are flaws in the case. These could include faulty radar or breathalyzer equipment or mitigating circumstances that would lead to an acquittal or a reduction in penalties. We will fight to achieve the best possible outcome with your case so that you can carry on with your life with as little disruption as possible. For a free consultation, call us today at 517-731-0353.