Lansing Driver’s License Reinstatement Lawyer
There are numerous reasons that your driver’s license may be revoked or suspended. There are just as many reasons that not being able to drive is an inconvenience. Taking public transportation can be slow and unreliable. Cabs, Ubers, and Lyfts can all cause your expenses to increase.
Driving without your license is not a better option. In Michigan, your first offense of driving with a suspended or revoked license carries a penalty of up to 93 days in jail, in addition to a $500 fine. These penalties only increase based on the offenses already on your record.
Fortunately, you don’t have to simply accept your driver’s license being suspended or revoked. Michigan law provides several drivers license options. A Lansing driver’s license reinstatement lawyer will be able to walk you through the process of getting your license back.
An attorney will be a great help in understanding the dense body of Michigan administrative driver’s license suspension law. Contact DeBruin Law PLLC to discuss your suspended Michigan driver’s license. A traffic lawyer from our firm will be able to walk you through every step of license restoration, from filing to the hearing. For a free case evaluation, call (517) 324-4303 or contact us via the online form.
How Do You Get Your License Unsuspended in Michigan?
The process of restoring your driver’s license will depend on the nature of your offense. In Michigan, you may have your license suspended for a number of reasons, including:
- Operating a vehicle while under the influence of drugs or alcohol;
- Refusing to submit to a test of your blood alcohol concentration (BAC);
- Being given too many points on your driving record;
- Violating insurance laws; and
- Using your vehicle while committing a felony.
Depending on the severity of your offense, and your previous convictions, you may face indefinite suspension. It is possible to have your license reinstated before the full term of your suspension has been served. In order to do so, you will have to apply for reinstatement.
How to Apply for Michigan License Reinstatement
Michigan driver’s license reinstatement begins with the completion of your application. You must fill out both the Application Form and the Request for Hearing Form, which are available on the State of Michigan website.
If your license was suspended because of your substance abuse, you will also have to fill out form SOS-258. This is the Substance Use Evaluation. Your Request For a Hearing and your Substance Use Evaluation (if necessary) must be dated no more than three months before the state will receive them to ensure they are recent. There are additional documents you’ll have to submit to get your license reinstated.
Additional Documentation to Submit for Your License Restoration
In addition to the other documents required for your license reinstatement, you may also be required to provide support letters. These letters will document your substance abuse in an effort to show your rehabilitation and sobriety. They should be written by people who have good reason to know about your use of controlled substances. This could include family members, friends, employers, teachers, religious officials, or neighbors. You may submit between three and six letters, all of which must be signed, dated, and notarized. They should include information like:
- The writer’s relationship with you, and how long you have known each other;
- How often the two of you communicate or see each other;
- The last time they had actual knowledge of you using controlled substances;
- Their knowledge of your involvement in support groups or community work; and
- Any other information you believe is important.
You can include other documents that show your rehabilitation. Some examples of how to show this are:
- Drug screen or toxicology reports showing no controlled substances in your body;
- A certificate of completion for a rehab or counseling program; or
- Report cards or performance reports, if they show improvement that can be connected with rehabilitation.
The evidence that will convince a court to give your license back is unique to every case. A Michigan drivers license reinstatement lawyer will be able to tell you exactly what you need to make an adequate case for license restoration.
What to Expect at a Michigan Driver’s License Appeal Hearing
At your license restoration hearing, the Court will ask a series of question to determine whether or not you can regain your license. They’ll want information such as:
- The last time you drank;
- Whether you have any pending traffic violations; and
- Whether you’re currently on probation.
They may also ask about your personal contacts, or whether you have a history with any controlled or illicit substances. The point of the hearing is to establish that you won’t commit another offense that results in license suspension. Your attorney will be instrumental in putting together a case that effectively proves this.
How to Get a Restricted License in Michigan
Depending on why your driving privileges were suspended, you may be eligible for a restricted license. Under a license restriction, you will still be permitted to drive to certain, authorized locations. You cannot apply for a restricted license unless you have served a minimum amount of time of your suspension. Once you’ve served the minimum allowed time, you must file a petition with the court that served your suspension.
Fees Associated with License Restoration
Restoring your driver’s license, or driving under a restricted license, requires the payment of certain fees. The standard fee to reinstate your license is $125. If your license was suspended due to an insurance law violation, the reinstatement fee is between $25 and $50. For suspensions arising out of a failure to appear or comply, the fee is $45.
Talk to A License Reinstatement Lawyer About Your Suspended License Today
The biggest help in regaining your driver’s license will come from your attorney. DeBruin Law PLLC will make sure you put forth the best case possible for getting your driver’s license back. Contact us online, or call (517) 324-4303, to speak with an experienced Michigan lawyer today.